Tonka Bay teen to debut in South Indian dance premier 

Nrithi Subramanian, 13, of Tonka Bay, joined fellow Bharatanatyam dancers Jan. 28 in the premiere performance of “Ritu – The Seasons” at Hamline University in St. Paul.

Subramanian has studied South Indian classical dancing since she was 5 years old. She became interested in classical dancing from watching her mother, Priya, perform.

“When I was younger, I would see her dance and I thought it was so pretty, so she got me into it and has been my teacher ever since,” Subramanian said. “She’s been my inspiration for everything.”

Her mother said that despite having ups and downs, it has been a privilege passing on the art of South Indian classical dancing. In addition she’s also been teaching her daughter how to perform an Indian guitar called a bina sitar.

Continue reading: Tonka Bay teen to debut in South Indian dance premier

